Back to Top

2012 has been an astonishing year for music. Here are some of the releases we’ve loved at The Outer Church, in no particular order: Production Unit There Are No Shortcuts In A Grid System (Broken20) Alexander Tucker Third Mouth (Thrill Jockey) Pye Corner Audio Sleep Games (Ghost Box) Oren Ambarchi Sagittarian Domain (Editions Mego) Black Bananas Rad Times Express IV (Drag City) Panabrite Soft Terminal (Digitalis) Killer Mike R.A.P. Music (Williams Street) Bear Bones, Lay Low El Telonero (Kraak) Slomo The Grain (Trilithon) Scott Walker Bish Bosch (4AD) Lost Trail A Stained August For The Jetcrash (Sunup Recordings) Raime Quarter Turns Over A Living Line (Blackest Ever Black) Hacker Farm UHF (Exotic Pylon) Blawan His He She & She (Hinge Finger) Stratus As The Crow Flies (Tummy Touch) Innercity Bloodcake (Amnesia Agency) Penalune Not All Clouds Are White (Broken20) Synek Paradiba (Rano) EL-P Cancer 4 Cure (Fat Possum) Kemper Norton Rough Music: Collision/Detection v6 (Front & Follow) KTL V (Editions Mego) Lindstrom Smalhans (Feedelity) These Feathers Have Plumes Hegira (Robert & Leopold) Vindicatrix Mengamuk (Mordant Music) Time Attendant Tournaments (Exotic Pylon) Van Halen A Different Kind Of Truth (Interscope) Anna Meredith Black Prince Fury (Moshi Moshi) Panabrite The Baroque Atrium (Preservation) eMMplekz IZOD Days (Mordant Music) Áine O’Dwyer Music for Church Cleaners (Fort Evil Fruit) Black Mountain Transmitter Playing With Dead Things (Auris Apothecary) Geoff Barrow & Ben Salisbury DROKK: Music Inspired By Mega City One (Invada) Young Smoke Space Zone (Planet Mu) Kiran Leonard Bowler Hat Soup (Self-Released) oh/ex/oh Extant (The Geography Trip) Fairhorns Doki Doki Run (Invada) Mirrorring Foreign Body (Kranky) TVO Red Night (Broken60) Air Le Voyage Dans La Lune (Virgin) Hong Kong In The 60s Collision/Detection v4 (Front & Follow) Jessica Bailiff At The Down-Turned Jagged Rim Of The Sky (Kranky) Steve Moore Light Echoes (Cuneiform) Robert Hood Motor: Nighttime World 3 (Music Man) Kemper Norton Carn 1 (Self-Released) Old Apparatus Derren/Realise/Alfur/Harem (Sullen Tone) Devin Townsend Project Epicloud (HevyDevy) Minack Downed (Self-Released) Nick Mott The Visitors (alt.vinyl) Mothlite Dark Age (Kscope) Beru Fire Eyes Gather Souls (Digitalis) Hexvessel No Holier Temple (Svart) Emptyset Medium (Subtext) Now Wakes The Sea Hot Cygnet Tape (The Geography Trip) Robin The Fog The Ghosts Of Bush (The Fog Signals) OGRE 184 (Self-Released) Jon Brooks Shapwick (Clay Pipe Music) Ship Canal Please Let Me Back Into Your House (19F3) Silver Pyre AeXE (Sedgemoor Recordings) 10-20 Magnet Marsh (Broken60) Soft Mirage Ionian Dream (Kinnta) The Haxan Cloak The Men Parted The Sea To Devour The Water (Southern) Bass Clef Reeling Skullways (Punch Drunk) Wizards Tell Lies The Failed Silence (First Fold) Abul Mogard Abul Mogard (VCO Recordings) Erstlaub Marconi’s Shipwreck (Broken20) Patti Smith Banga (Columbia) The Beach Boys That’s Why God Made The Radio (Capitol) Pye Corner Audio Black Mill Tapes Vol 3 (Pye Corner Audio Transcription Services) Ombre Believe You Me (Asthmatic Kitty) Rush Clockwork Angels (Roadrunner) Earth Angels Of Darkness, Demons Of Light II (Southern Lord) Sone Institute A Model Life (Front & Follow) Umberto The Night Has A Thousand Screams (Rock Action) Imbogodom And They Turned Not When They Went (Thrill Jockey) Them Use Them The Muse The Mountain (First Fold) Oren Ambarchi Audience Of One (Touch) Majeure Solar Maximum (Temporary Residence) Emptyset Collapsed (Raster Noton) Lindstrom Six Cups Of Rebel (Smalltown Supersound)

Posted 1 year ago / 11 notes / Tagged: end of year, 2012, the outer church,